The Catholic University of America

Radiation Safety Committee

The Catholic University of America (CUA) conducts research involving the use of radioactive materials. The possession and use of such materials are authorized by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission by means of individual licenses subjecting the licensees to regulations codified under the Atomic Energy Act. These regulations require "... the establishment of a radiation safety committee composed of such persons as a radiological safety officer, a representative of management, and persons trained and experienced in the safe use of radioactive materials."

The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) is responsible for:

  • Annually reviewing CUA's radiation protection program and ensuring compliance with applicable regulations and university policy
  • Reviewing and approving uses of radioactive material
  • Reviewing infractions or alleged infractions of regulations for safe use of ionizing radiation sources
  • Ensuring the maintenance of all records required by law

 

MEMBERSHIP

The RSC consists of a chair and additional members as indicated below. The Provost makes appointments to the RSC in conjunction with the executive director of Facilities Operations, along with the advice of Department Chairs, Deans and the Radiation Safety Officer (RSO). The committee chair and the RSO are specifically named in our NRC licenses, and license amendments are required when changes are made. Ex-officio members: Committee chair, Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Director of Public Safety, representative from the School of Nursing faculty, representative from Physical Plant Services and Operations, and the Radiation Safety Officer. Technical Members: One member, qualified by training and experience in the use of radioactive material or radiation producing equipment, is appointed from each department/laboratory that makes extensive use of sources of ionizing radiation.

 

MEMBERS (ACADEMIC YEAR 2008–2009)

  • Aaron Barkatt, Ph.D. (chair) associate professor, Chemistry; 202-319-5397, barkatt@cua.edu
  • Louis Alar, director, Department of Environmental Health and Safety; 202-319-5789, Alar@cua.edu
  • Richard Weil, senior facilities project manager, Office of Facilities Planning and Construction, 202-319-5515, weil@cua.edu
  • John Golin, Ph.D., ordinary professor, Biology;  202-319-5722, golin@cua.edu
  • Mahmoud Haleem, (secretary), Radiation Safety Officer, Department of Environmental Health and Safety; 202-319-5206, haleem@cua.edu
  • Wing Kot, Ph.D., research associate, VSL; 202-319-5331, wingk@vsl.cua.edu
  • Miguel Penafiel, Ph.D., research associate, VSL; 202-319-5335, penafiel@cua.edu